Sullivan, Davidson make it twice as nice for watch list

Andi Sullivan was added to the MAC Hermann Trophy watch list for the third consecutive year. Photo courtesy of Stanford Athletics.

Stanford senior midfielder Andi Sullivan and Sacred Heart Prep grad Tierna Davidson were named to the watch list for the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, the highest honor in collegiate soccer.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer presented annually to the outstanding male and female players of the year.

This becomes the third consecutive year Stanford has seen two of its players on the list, with goalkeeper Jane Campbell joining Sullivan each of the past two seasons. The Cardinal is one of four programs in the nation to have multiple representatives on the list, which consists of 30 women's soccer players.

Six of Stanford's 19 opponents feature at least one player on the list, including Georgetown, UCLA, Florida, USC, Utah and Colorado.

Sullivan, a senior from Lorton, Virginia, was a Hermann Trophy finalist in 2016 after being a semifinalist in 2015. In 2016, Sullivan set career marks in goals (11), assists (7) and points (29) en route to Pac-12 Player of the Year honors. She is a three-time United Soccer Coaches All-Pacific Region selection with two first-team All-America honors to her name.

Davidson was one of five players to start all 21 matches in 2016, primarily featuring at the base of Stanford's midfield. The sophomore earned a place on the All-Pac-12 second team, Pac-12 All-Freshman team and TopDrawerSoccer's Freshman Best XI first team. She notched two goals and two assists while playing the most minutes (1,908) of any non-defender, and was one of six underclassmen to make this year's Hermann Trophy watch list.

The midfield duo was integral to Stanford's success last season, helping the Cardinal win its 11th Pac-12 title and earning a No. 1 seed in the NCAA tournament.

Stanford has had three winners in the past seven years and 15 Cardinal over the past decade have made the watch list or been semifinalists.

In 2011, Teresa Noyola became the third consecutive Stanford player to win the Hermann Trophy, following Christen Press in 2010 and Kelley O'Hara in 2009. With Noyola's victory, Stanford became the first to have three different winners in as many years.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches will vote on their top 15 choices. The list will be narrowed down to three finalists and the winner will be announced in January.

— Stanford Athletics

What is democracy worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Stay informed

Get daily headlines sent straight to your inbox.

Su Hong Palo Alto's last day of business will be Sept. 29
By Elena Kadvany | 15 comments | 5,235 views

Troubling safety issues in our fair city
By Diana Diamond | 16 comments | 1,569 views

Premarital, Women Over 50 Do Get Married
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,403 views

Natural Wines?
By Laura Stec | 1 comment | 1,375 views

Electric Buses: A case study
By Sherry Listgarten | 2 comments | 1,158 views


Register now!

On Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

More Info