Stanford men's soccer duo named to MAC Hermann watch list | News | Palo Alto Online |


Stanford men's soccer duo named to MAC Hermann watch list


All-Americans Tomas Hilliard-Arce and Foster Langsdorf were both added to the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, giving Stanford the distinction of being the lone institution in the country with multiple players on the list for men's soccer highest individual award.

Hilliard-Arce and Langsdorf are among 31 players on the men's watch list, which is compiled by the United Soccer Coaches Men's NCAA Division I All-America Committee, based on analysis of returning All-America and All-Region players, as well as any prominent newcomers.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer, has been awarded annually since 1967. Following the 2015 season, two-time Stanford All-American and 2016 MLS Rookie of the Year Jordan Morris became the first Cardinal men's player to win the honor. This year's winners will be announced Friday, Jan. 5, 2018, at the trophy presentation banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Stanford is also the only team in the country returning multiple NSCAA All-Americans in 2017 in Hilliard-Arce and Langsdorf. Since their arrival on campus in 2014, Stanford is the winningest program in the nation, by percentage, with an overall record of 46-8-11 (.792) and has won back-to-back national championships and three consecutive Pac-12 titles.

A 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalist and the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, Hilliard-Arce anchored a Cardinal defense that finished fourth nationally in goals against average (0.56) from his spot at center back. Stanford's goals against average tied for the second-best mark in program history and its 13 shutouts also tied for third in the country and were its most since 2000 (16).

Also an All-Pac-12 first team selection, Hilliard-Arce was a set-piece threat and finished second on the team in goals (4) and fourth in points (10). He became Stanford's eighth first-time All-American a year ago, joining a list that includes Jordan Morris (2014, 2015), Brandon Vincent (2014, 2015), Bobby Warshaw (2009), Todd Dunivant (2002), Lee Morrison (2001), Ryan Nelsen (2000) and Jamie Clark (1998).

Langsdorf's career-high 15 goals as a junior tied for eighth in program history, were the most for a Cardinal since Willie Guicci had 22 in 1981 and the highest total in the Pac-12 since 2011. The management science and engineering major ended his 2016 campaign fourth nationally in total goals, 10th in goals per game (0.65) and led the country in game-winning goals (8).

Last season, he was voted Co-Pac-12 Player of the Year and a second-team All-American. Langsdorf, Jordan Morris (2015), Roger Levesque (2001) and Ryan Nelsen (2000) are the only Cardinal players to win recognition as the conference's player of the year.

Thirteen of Stanford's scheduled matches this fall are at Laird Q. Cagan Stadium, including a pair of free exhibitions against Portland (Aug. 13) and Pacific (Aug. 19). The Cardinal has posted a 27-2-6 (.857) record at home over the past three seasons with a goals against average of 0.52.

Stanford's regular-season home opener is on Friday, Sept. 1 at 7 p.m. against No. 14 Creighton.

— Stanford Athletics

What is community worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Stay informed

Get daily headlines sent straight to your inbox.

Los Altos's State of Mind opening NYC-inspired pizza shop in Palo Alto
By Elena Kadvany | 16 comments | 8,300 views

Flying: How much is enough? It's personal.
By Sherry Listgarten | 13 comments | 2,840 views

Wait, wait – we’re working on it
By Diana Diamond | 18 comments | 2,483 views

My Pet Peeves
By John Raftrey and Lori McCormick | 7 comments | 1,922 views

Goodbye toy stores
By Cheryl Bac | 7 comments | 1,230 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 34th Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult and Teen categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 27, 2020. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category. Sponsored by Kepler's Books, Linden Tree Books and Bell's Books.

Contest Details