McCaffrey, Shaw receive top Pac-12 football honors | News | Palo Alto Online |


McCaffrey, Shaw receive top Pac-12 football honors


Heisman Trophy candidate Christian McCaffrey of Stanford and Cardinal head coach David Shaw received top Pac-12 Conference football honors on Tuesday.

McCaffrey was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Shaw and Mike Leach of Washington State were co-Coaches of the Year.

McCaffrey is the sixth Stanford player to receive the award, joining quarterback Andrew Luck (2010, 2011), running back Toby Gerhart (2009), wide receiver Troy Walters (1999) and running back Brad Muster (1986).

McCaffrey amassed a nation-best and Pac-12-record 3,035 all-purpose yards during the regular season. A finalist for the Doak Walker, Maxwell and Hornung Awards, and semifinalist for the Walter Camp Award, the versatile McCaffrey set several school records by rushing for 243 yards against UCLA, posted nine-straight 100-yard rushing games, and recorded 389 all-purpose yards against Cal, the latter eclipsing a 25-year-old mark.

McCaffrey ranks second in the Pac-12 in rushing with 1,640 yards and his 136.7 yards/game average ranks seventh nationally. He also tops the conference and ranks seventh in the country in kickoff returns with an average of 29.7.

Shaw, now in his fifth season, guided Stanford to its fourth Pac-12 North Division title in five years, and brings a 10-2 record into Saturday's Pac-12 Championship Game against USC (4:45 p.m.) at Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara.

The Cardinal has defeated three ranked opponents this season and has averaged 36.9 points behind the league's most efficient passing game (157.8 passing efficiency) and a running game that averages 220.0 yards, the third best in school history. Stanford also leads the nation in time of possession at 35:12 minutes per game.

Shaw has compiled an overall record of 52-14 at Stanford, and reached 50 wins faster than any head coach in program history.

It marks the sixth time a Cardinal head coach has captured the award, with Shaw also winning in 2012 and 2011. Tyrone Willingham (1999, 1995) and Bill Walsh (1977) were the other recipients.

Shaw is the fourth three-time winner in league history.

— Stanford Athletics

What is democracy worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Stay informed

Get daily headlines sent straight to your inbox.

'Are they ready for fully innovative Indian food?' Ettan arrives in Palo Alto with chaat, caviar and a secret menu
By Elena Kadvany | 0 comments | 3,543 views

Flying: How to lower your impact
By Sherry Listgarten | 10 comments | 2,481 views

Premarital and Couples: Here Be Dragons!
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 2,036 views

Goodbye toy stores
By Cheryl Bac | 12 comments | 1,644 views

Pseudo-Primary for CA Senate District 13: some thoughts
By Douglas Moran | 3 comments | 1,261 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 34th Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult and Teen categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 27, 2020. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category. Sponsored by Kepler's Books, Linden Tree Books and Bell's Books.

Contest Details